3 Irish players make the 12-man shortlist for the 6 Nations Player of the Tournament

THREE IRISH PLAYERS have been recognised for their brilliant performances in this year’s 6 Nations tournament.

Robbie Henshaw, Conor Murray and Paul O’Connell were all central to Ireland’s triumph and make the cut on the 12-man shortlist on the official Six Nations website.

But it is runners-up England who have the most representatives on the 12-man shortlist in George Ford, Jonathan Joseph, Billy Vunipola and Ben Youngs.

Wales have two nominees in Dan Biggar and Alun Wyn-Jones while Scotland have Jonny Gray and Stuart Hogg.

Captain Sergio Parisse is the solitary Italian player included while no French players have made the cut.

Click Here: gold coast suns 2019 guernsey

Voting is now open on the website and closes at midnight on Wednesday.

The shortlist in full is:

Biggar, Dan (WAL)Ford, George (ENG)Gray, Jonny (SCO)Henshaw, Robbie (IRE)Hogg, Stuart (SCO)Jones, Alun Wyn (WAL)Joseph, Jonathan (ENG)Murray, Conor (IRE)O’Connell, Paul (IRE)Parisse, Sergio (ITA)Vunipola, Billy (ENG)Youngs, Ben (ENG)Analysis: Ireland’s attacking belief flows to fire them to Six Nations titleThe42′s virtually impossible 2015 Six Nations quiz