Cork’s Mourneabbey complete Munster three-in-a-row

Mourneabbey  2-16

Banner 1-6

Click Here:

IN A REPEAT of the 2014 Munster club final, Mourneabbey prevailed against the Banner of Clare to secure their third senior Munster title on the spin.

The Cork champions won the tie in emphatic fashion with Doireann O’Sullivan scoring seven of her side’s points while the goals came from Ciara O’Sullivan and substitute Laura Harrington. The reigning champions were hit with two sin bins during the tie but comfortably survived the setbacks.


Congrats to @banner_ladies keeper Emma O'Driscoll on the player of the match award today. Well deserved!

— Mourneabbey LFC (@MourneabbeyLFC) November 5, 2016

Meanwhile, points from Louise Henchy and Grainne Nolan kept the Clare side in the chase and they were just five adrift of Mourneabbey at half-time. A Niamh Keane goal arrived late into the second half but the deficit was to big to bridge in the end.

Mourneabbey will now progress to the All-Ireland semi-final where they will meet Ulster champions Donaghmoyne in a repeat of the 2015 All-Ireland decider.

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!