Chelsea and Spurs dominate PFA Team of the Year with four players apiece

THE PREMIER LEAGUE’S top two Chelsea and Tottenham dominate this season’s PFA Team of the Year with four representatives each.

The top three defences in England’s top flight supply the goalkeeper and four defenders with Manchester United’s Spanish stopper David de Gea selected for the third successive season.

Chelsea’s Gary Cahill and David Luiz fill the two central defensive berths while Spurs full-backs Kyle Walker and Danny Rose make up the rearguard.

The league’s two leading clubs also combine for the central midfield partnership with Dele Alli and N’Golo Kante making the XI for a second successive year, although Kante is this time representing Chelsea rather than 2015/16 champions Leicester.

Chelsea’s Belgian wizard Eden Hazard occupies the right wing while Liverpool’s Sadio Mane completes the midfield on the left.

Harry Kane completes the Spurs contingent up top having scored 20 Premier League goals already this season.

He is partnered by the division’s current top scorer in Romelu Lukaku of Everton, who has hit the net four times more than the England striker to date.

Arsenal’s Alexis Sanchez and Manchester United’s Zlatan Ibrahimovic are two of the more high-profile names to miss out on the XI, having been included among the six nominees for the Player of the Year award.

PFA Team of the Year

David De Gea (Manchester United)

Kyle Walker (Tottenham Hotspur)
David Luiz (Chelsea)
Gary Cahill (Chelsea)
Danny Rose (Tottenham Hotspur)

Eden Hazard (Chelsea)
Dele Alli (Tottenham Hotspur)
N’Golo Kante (Chelsea)
Sadio Mane (Liverpool)

Harry Kane (Tottenham)
Romelu Lukaku (Everton)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Click Here: ireland gaa shop