SCSU opens 2012-13 with the Black/Red Classic on Nov. 2

St. Cloud, Minn. ~ St. Cloud State University wrestling kicked off its 2012-13 season on Nov. 2 at their Annual Black/Red Classic in Halenbeck Hall. The two teams split five each of the 10 contested matches, but the Black prevailed with a 21-18 win.

Click Here: Fjallraven Kanken Art Spring Landscape Backpacks

The Black team highlighted the event earning bonus points from Clint Poster (RFr, Pierz, MN), Shamus O’Grady (RSr, Coon Rapids, MN) and Eric Forde (So, Fargo, ND).

“I liked the aggressiveness we showed tonight,” St. Cloud State head coach Steve Costanzo said. “We will continue to get better and I really like the direction we are heading. Tonight’s match really shows the depth we have in our room without several key individual who were not competing.”

Former SCSU wrestling greats John Sundgren ’11 and Bob Boeck served as the honorary coaches for the event. Sundgren was the 2011 NCAA National Champion at 157-pounds for the Huskies while Boeck served as SCSU’s wrestling coach from 1985-1990. Sundgren was just employed by Wells Fargo in Minneapolis and Boeck is in his fourth year as head wrestling coach at St. Cloud Tech High School.

November 2, 2012 at St. Cloud State

Results – Black 21, Red 18
157: Clint Poster (Pierz, Minn.) tech fall over Jacob R. Horn (St. Michael, Minn), 20-4
165: Jack Barnes (Inver Grove Heights, Minn.) dec. Cody Tibbetts (Lake Crystal, Minn.), 8-4
174: Ben McPhail (Pine Island, Minn.) dec. Taylor Lewandowski (Foley, Minn.), 6-0
184: Shamus O’Grady (Coon Rapids, Minn.) fall over Uthman Rabiu (St. Paul, Minn.), 2:08
197: Chris Brassell (Park Ridge, IL) dec. Mic Berg (Inver Grove Heights, Minn.), 7-1
285: Caleb White (Neola, IA) dec. Austin Goergen (Caledonia, Minn.), 4-3
125: Eric Forde (Fargo, ND) maj. dec. Daniel Polanco (San Jose, Cali.), 16-4
141: Matt Nelson (Big Lake, Minn.) fall over Jay Hildreth (Council Bluffs, IA), 7:54
141: Matt Leibforth (Lemont, IL) dec. Eric Ellington (Fairview Heights, IL), 2-1
149: Brady Johnshoy (Prior Lake, Minn.) dec. Josh Howk (Oak Grove, MO), 2-1